Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Mollers01

Mollers01’s Guide to International Management

I love international management – whether playing solely as an international manager, or combining it with a club job, it really brings an added flavour to the game. If I’m solely playing as an international boss, I spend a lot of my time on holiday, only coming back to pick squads and play games, so it’s interesting to see the game progress without taking an active part in it. If I’m a club manager too, international matches provide a nice break from the norm.

Unlike club management, taking on an international team has two main aspects – squad selection, and playing matches. You have no budgets, staff, training or transfers to worry about – this is management in its purest form.

Here are my top tips for success in the international arena, using examples from my latest journey with Ireland (and Everton).

Picking your squad

Spoiler

In picking my squad, I try to follow a few basic principles:

• Set your level – This depends on the sort of nation you are playing has. England, for example, will always pick their squad from the Premier League, with the occasional player coming from abroad. However, for nations with smaller pools of players, you will have to look outside the top leagues. My advice is to set a level to ensure that you have the best quality squad possible –with Ireland, I will go no lower than the English Championship, the SPL, and the occasional player from the Irish leagues. That brings me on to my next point…