Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Tactics 3-1-4-2 tactic. Goals and clean sheets galore

Tomhall24

This is my first time posting a tactic, so hoping I've done this correctly.

This is a similar tactic that I used a couple of season ago. It was great then, and it's working a dream now.
Ive only tried it with Burnley in the championship but so far I'm 20 games into the season with 17 wins and 3 draws. 53 goals and 13 conceeded. 
My forwards are banging in goals for fun, my defense is pretty solid too.

Some tips for what you want from the roles
Defense - Burnley defenders are pretty slow, which is why I opted for a sweeper at the back. Because of the high defensive line we were getting beaten with through balls to quick strikers quite often. If this persists even with your sweeper you could look at dropping the defensive line back a step.
Midfield - I found the most success with a bwm in the defensive midfielder role, don't expect great ratings for this player but they are important for helping out the back 3. If the other team plays an attacking midfielder I have been playing him with j man marking. You could try a DLP but I found the defence conceded a few more goals.
With the bbm you want to find someone who with decent shooting, this player seems to get into some really good positions to score so expect a good goal scoring return and assist from this player.
Ive had success with converting wing Backs into the wide midfielders, as long as they are quick, with decent dribbling and crossing you should be OK. These guys get tonnes of assists.
Forwards - I opted to go with a shadow striker and pressing forward and so far they're doing class. Jay Rodriguez is on fire at shadow striker (13 games, 9 goals 2 assists). I recalled Weghorst back from his loan and so far he has 12 goals and 8 assists from 17 games.