Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Help Which player is "better"?

Hello community,

I am pretty new in the game, but really like it.

I have problems with finding out, how "good" players are. Of course, there are the ratings for different abilities, and some stars and so on.

But some ratings are important, other's are not. For a certain role, 4-6 attributes are marked as "important", but other attributes might also be important.

What I did is an excel sheet and calculated the average value of each player of the 4-6 attributes which are "important" for his role. Higher average = better player for the role.

Sounds easy, but also wrong. E.g. have two left wing backs availible. One has a mean value of 11.0 at these 5 attributes. But, he is very bad in "tackling", which does not matter, because it is not needed for that role (?). The other one has a mean average value of 10.0, but also a 14 in tackling. Which one is the better choice? 😮

So, I continued with calculating not only the 4-6 relevant attributes, but also a mean of all of his numbers. But then there are numbers taken into account, which are not really relevant (e.g. a shooting ability for a defender).

Do you understand my problem? 🙂

The average is not important, you need to understand the tactical role and understand what it needs to shine in that position and tactical role. Also, check scout/coach report to get an understanding of his form/value and if he can get better or not. 

In regards to wingback, you're looking at them the right way but also the wrong way, Pace, positioning, Dribbling and crossing are the keys for wingbacks but you also want them to be good at tackling if possible, the level your at any attributes 12 or higher is good enough, so to answer your question personally I would go for the wingback with the higher tackling if there is only one to two attributes points between their crossing, Dribbling, pace and positioning.